mllekatie

je ne suis pas en irelande. :(

In Uncategorized on 27.05.2009 at 15:19

so… i am back in the states and oddly enough, missing the weather in dublin!  it’s h-o-t hot here and you have to get up super early to go outside.  but enough of present time!  this is to catch up on the rest of the trip – because it is impossible to relate my experiences fully to everyone, even in blog form, but i shall try!

my last post was after a day of work on monday, which while it was not blister-free, was wonderful!  we worked with paul and his flat tuesday and wednesday as well and paul amazed us all with his honesty and his openness about his life.  he has an amazing heart, and i only wish he could have found his faith without going through so much! it breaks my heart.

Allison painting with PaulHere’s Paul working with us – and he was there everyday!  He found us at Christ Church before Chuck was even able to find parking … introducing us to his amazing honesty and wonderful nature.  I am still blown away by him!

And I love that we were able to do something so tangible on this trip.

amazing stovethe amazing kitchen transformationHere is our ‘orange glo’ product at work. No telling just how much of it we used last week.  I hope it wasn’t toxic.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Denny put up the shelves, we all cleaned, sanded, painted, cleaned, and also cleaned everything!  And it looks like a kitchen where you can start your new life.

 

 

 

We got to see friends of Christy’s and Laura’s Tuesday night, that actually know each other!  We had pizza and waited approximately forever for our bill.  I know that I just wanted to go to sleep after this meal. These days were so full and tiring and fulfilling that I think we all had no clue what to do with ourselves.

Wednesday we worked until we felt we could pass it on to Paul and Daniel and then had a wonderful talk (in a circle of course!) at the end of the day.  We shared our work with them, but we also had a chance to try to express to Paul what he means to us, which I hope stays with him as it will stay with us.  Christy’s friend George waited for two hours while we were not leaving Paul’s!  

This time was so precious – you all will just have to wait to hear about the sea and the pickled beet burgers.

  1. I hope I am not leaving this comment twice …

    I’m so honored to be included on your blog in picture form! I also love the orange glo’ cleaner and let’s not forget the chocolate buttons.

    I recapped our trip on my blog as well: http://anointedwithgrace.com/2009/05/27/a-labor-of-love/

    Love ya, Katie!

Leave a Reply

